Board & Committee Members, Award Recipients, Hall of Fame & Past General Chairs

Note:  Please scroll down to view all content.

Governance, Annual Reports & By-Laws

By-Laws, Annual Reports and Policy & Procedures for Arizona Swimming are in the Document Library.

Contacting a member of the Board of Directors or a Committee Chair

To contact an Officer, Director or Committee Chair click on their name listed below to bring up email contact information.

Board of Directors & OfficersCommittee Chairs and Contacts
General Chair – Joe ZemaitisOperations Director – Heather Zick
Admin Vice Chair – Carla Morelli Member Registrations – Tiara Holmes
Finance Vice Chair – Sean HusmoeBoard of Review Chair – TBD
Secretary – Alex FarlowEquipment Chair – Bret Kawasaki
Treasurer – Connie HargreavesOperational Risk Coordinator: Heather Zick
Senior Swimming Chair – Mike ChassonOfficials Chair – John Rajadas
Age Group Swimming Chair – Meg ZajdzinskiSanction Chair – Heather Zick
Safe Sport Coordinator – Jody BettsTechnical Chair – Tyler Fox
Coaches Representative – Porter OlstadOpen Water co-Chair – Tom Oliver
Athlete Representative – Ezmee JonesDEI Chair – Porter Olstad
Athlete Representative –Emma SayersRules Chair – Mary Kramer

AZSI / USAS Awards Recipients

See below for schedule of dates for Board of Directors meetings, minutes of the past Board of Directors/House of Delegates meetings, listing of various Award recipients, including annual Coach and Volunteer of the Year, as well as listing of those inducted into the AzSI Hall of Fame and the AzSI  past General Chairs.

AzSI/USAS Award RecipientsPast General ChairsAzSI Hall of Fame
Adolph G. Keifer Safety Award
As presented by USA Swimming
Starre Haney – 2012
Arizona Swimming Coach of the Year Recipients
Voted annually by the Arizona Coaches.
2023-Current Joe Zemaitis
2023 Darian Townsend; Senior
Matt Brauer; Age Group
2019-2022 Kelly Logan
2022 Tyler Fox & Carl Jones; Senior
Linda Marinos; Age Group
2015-2018 Mary KramerMembers of the Class of 2016
2021 Alex Sherman, Senior;
Ron Gercke, Age Group
2013-2014 Greg DozerTed Haartz
2020 Darian Townsend, Senior; Matt Brauer, Age Group2009-2012 John DegnanGary Hall, Sr
2019 Darian Townsend, Senior; Mark Van Voorst, Age Group2005-2008 Joy RussellGary Hall, Jr
2018 Paul Stafford, Senior; Ryan Kent, Age Group2000-2004 Bill HaneyStarre Haney
2017 Mike Maczuga, Senior; Ken Maczuga, Age Group1996-2000 Mary KramerMisty Hyman
2016 Kevin Zacher, Senior; Maryanne Keever, Age Group1992-1996 Thomas QuinnMaryAnn Graham Keever
2015 Michael Polak, Senior; Sarah Byers, Age Group1988-1992 Patricia NelsonMelissa Belote Ripley
2014 Kevin Zacher, Senior; Gayle Schurz, Age Group1987-1988 John CoxM Duncan Scott
2013 Johnathan Fergusson, Senior; Ryan Kent, Age Group1986-1987 Fred CoreyCarol “Penny” Taylor
2012 Samantha Kramer, Age Group; Charlie Cunningham, Senior1985-1986 M. Duncan ScottMike Troy
2011 Jessica Vipperman, Age Group; David Gibson, Senior1984-1985 Kay Fredricks
2010 Joe Zemaitis, Age Group; Matt Rankin, Senior1981-1984 Harrison Race
2009 Tim Harper, Age Group; Roric Fink, Senior
2008 Melissa Ripley, Age Group; Matt Rankin, Senior
2007 Roric Fink, Senior
Ted Haartz Lifetime Achievement Award
2016 Edna Spring
2009 Mary Kramer
2007 Russ Ewers
2006 Darleen Panter
2005 Ted Haartz
Volunteer of the Year Award Recipients
Voted annually at the spring House of Delegates
2023 Carla Morelli, Teri Rose
2022 Alex Farlow, Sandy Whitmeyer
2021 Joe Zemaitis, Sandy Whitmeyer
2020 Bret Kawasaki, Brian Shepherd
2019 Lisa Fail, Greg Dozer
2018 David Brooks, Tom Oliver
2017 Gini Herbst, Gerardo Huerta
2016 Kelly Logan, Jane Stump
2015 Maureen Rankin, Bryan Lynch
2014 Art Gramer, Sharon Campbell
2013 David Brace, Kelly Logan & Jane Stump
2012 Art Gramer, Ron Corbin
2011 Greg Dozer, Pam Birnbrich
2010 Brad Grant, Tom Oliver
2009 Judy Gillies, Edna Spring
2008 Sharon Campbell, Starre Haney
2007 Pai Wells, Steve Palbykin
2006 Judy Pennington, Bill Haney
2005 Jean Oxley, Kevin Russell
2004 Kristi White, Steve Palbykin
2003 Joy Russell, John Degnan
2002 Lisa Walls, Bob Beardsley
2001 Kathy Miller, Phil Mercier
2000 Susan DeVinny, Mike Wagner
1999 Jan Shaw, Rich Joos
1998 Tom Quinn, Linda Daugherty
1997 Robert Panter, Darleen Panter
1996 Maeanne Fromm, Duncan Scott
1995 Diane Harrison, Steve Schaffer
1994 Mary Kramer
1993 Jim Hadley
1992 Sharon & Russ Ewers
1991 Darleen Panter
1990 Pat Nelson
1989 JR Pooler
1988 JR Pooler
1987 John Cox
1986 Liz James
1985 Kay Fredricks
1984 Fred Corey
1983 Harrison Race
1982 Kay Fredricks
1981 Elsie Duwel